SAARC Framework Agreement on Energy Cooperation (Electricity)

SAARC Framework Agreement for Energy Cooperation (Electricity)  (Size 3.12 MB) 

“SAARC Framework Agreement for Energy Cooperation (Electricity)” was signed by all Member States of SAARC including India on 27.11.2014 in 18th SAARC Summit held in Nepal on 26th-27th November, 2014. The objectives of the Framework Agreement are as mentioned below:

  1. The Agreement would facilitate integrated operation of regional grid across SAARC region and cross border trade.
  2. This Agreement shall enable cross-border trade of electricity amongst the Member States on voluntary basis subject to the laws, rules and regulation of the respective Member States.  Cross border electricity trade would facilitate surplus power of one number state to other state(s) in short to long term time frame.