

## No.06/02/2015-NEF/FRP(Pt.) Government of India Ministry of Power Shram Shakti Bhawan, Rafi Marg, New Delhi – 110001

Dated: 13 January, 2016.

## OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: UDAY (Ujwal DISCOM Assurance Yojana).Participation of State Electricity Department – Reg.

UDAY (Ujwal DISCOM Assurance Yojana), a scheme for operational and financial turnaround of DISCOMs, has been launched vide OM No.06/02/2015-NEF/FRP dated 20<sup>th</sup> November, 2015. During the course of operationalizing the scheme, this Ministry has been receiving requests from State Governments, where distribution of electricity is being done by the State Power Departments as unbundled State Electricity Boards, to join UDAY. Similar requests to join UDAY for operational efficiency improvements are also being received from States where DISCOMs are financially not distressed.

- 2. The matter has been examined in this Ministry. In case of State Power Departments, the issue of State takeover of debts does not arise. Further, in case of States where DISCOMs are not financially distressed, there is no need for State to take over DISCOM debts.
- 3. Therefore, in both such above mentioned cases, States may also enter into bipartite/tripartite MOUs, as applicable, along with their DISCOMs and the Ministry of Power for implementation of the Scheme for improvement of operational parameters as per the OM dated 20-11-2015 for UDAY.

4. This issues with the approval of Hon'ble Minister of State for Power (I/C).

(Vishal Kapoor) Director (Distribution) Telefax No.23714000

To

- Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Department of Expenditure, North Block, New Delhi.
- 2. Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Department of Economic Affairs, North Block, New Delhi.
- 3. Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Department of Financial Services, Jeevan Deep Building, New Delhi.

- 4. Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Department of Revenue, North Block, New Delhi.
- 5. Secretary, Ministry of Coal, ShastriBhavan, New Delhi.
- 6. Secretary, Ministry of New & Renewable Energy, Block No.14, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi.
- 7. The CEO, NITI Aayog, New Delhi.
- 8. The Chairman, Railway Board, Rail Bhavan, New Delhi.
- 9. Governor, Reserve Bank of India, Mumbai.

## Copy to:

- 1. Prime Minister's Office (Joint Secretary Shri A.K. Sharma) South Block, New Delhi.
- 2. Cabinet Secretariat (Joint Secretary Smt. DeeptiUmashankar), RashtrapatiBhavan, New Delhi.
- 3. Chief Secretaries of all States/UTs.
- 4. Principal Secretary Power/Energy of all States/UTs.
- 5. Principal Secretary Finance of all States/UTs.
- 6. Chairperson, CEA, R.K. Puram, New Delhi.
- 7. CMD, REC, New Delhi.
- 8. CMD, PFC, New Delhi.

## Copy also to, for information:

- (i) PS to MOSP(I/C).
- (ii) PPS to Secretary (P).
- (iii) PPS to AS(BNS)/PPS to AS(BPP).
- (iv) PPS to JS(Distribution)/JS&FA/JS(Thermal)/JS(Trans.)/JS(Hydel)/JS(IC).
- (v) PPS to Director (D).
- (vi) Budget Section/Finance Division.
- (vii) Controller of Accounts, SevalBhavan, R.K. Puram, New Delhi.
- (viii) Technical Director, NIC, MoP with the request to upload the OM on the website of the Ministry.